Oz Blog News Commentary

Articles from The Tally Room

NSW 2023 – the vanishing Labor majority

March 28, 2023 - 11:22 -- Admin

At the end of election night, Labor had definitively won 45 seats, but was expected to pick up enough extra seats to win a majority (requiring 47 seats). As of Sunday lunchtime they were leading in 49 seats. This had dropped to 47 when I was analysing the results yesterday, but it looked like there were 3-4 others where Labor was in a good position to catch up.

NSW 2023 – next day review

March 26, 2023 - 15:10 -- Admin

There were a lot of parallels between the NSW result and last year’s federal election result. On a Labor vs Coalition basis, the result was decisive (although NSW Labor won the 2PP by quite a bit more than federal Labor). But this translated into a slim Labor majority, with a record crossbench.

NSW 2023 – Election night

March 25, 2023 - 18:00 -- Admin

Polls have just closed in New South Wales.

I won’t be running a liveblog tonight, but you can follow me by listening in to ABC Radio’s coverage on local radio stations in New South Wales (including ABC Radio Sydney), ABC News Radio or online. I’ve embedded a player below so you can listen along.

I’ll be back tomorrow morning with analysis of the results.